PDA

View Full Version : Need help tracking a spammer



tim
02-19-2002, 01:26 PM
Some of you may know that I always report spammers 'cos they really annoy me badly!

Well, I keep getting spammed by some twat that I can't seem to track down.

Message header
============

Return-Path: <Dr.YourName_Ph.D@UofDP.cc>
Received: from mail ([217.57.1.178]) by mta05-svc.ntlworld.com
(InterMail vM.4.01.03.27 201-229-121-127-20010626) with SMTP
id <20020219180636.YGKX7206.mta05-svc.ntlworld.com@mail>;
Tue, 19 Feb 2002 18:06:36 +0000
Message-ID: <HaC2u+nxk3HISjjL@z3hRCZYBJS12Hacu>
From: Dr.YourName_Ph.D@UofDP.cc <Dr.YourName_Ph.D@UofDP.cc>
Bcc:
Subject: University Diplomas - Your Accepted!
Date: Sat, 02 Mar 2002 06:40:57 -0400 (EDT)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="US-ASCII"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

Anyone got any ideas how to find who owns the source mail server?
How do I find who owns the IP address?
How does it get to me if my email address is not even mentioned in the header?

Aaaarrgghhhh help me please! :grr:

DeathStar
02-20-2002, 03:46 AM
This is what NeoTrace returned on the return IP....

NeoTrace Trace Version 3.25 Results
Target: 217.57.1.178
Date: 2/20/2002 (Wednesday), 4:40:59 AM
Nodes: 22


Node Data
Node Net Reg IP Address Location Node Name
1 - - 192.168.1.100 Orlando battlemoon-bane
2 1 - 10.105.192.1 Unknown
3 2 1 24.95.226.158 Orlando 24.95.226.158.cfl.rr.com
4 2 1 24.95.225.202 Orlando 24.95.225.202.cfl.rr.com
5 2 1 24.95.225.25 Orlando 24.95.225.25.cfl.rr.com
6 2 - 24.95.224.9 Unknown
7 3 2 66.185.136.165 Unknown pop2-tby-p6-0.atdn.net
8 4 2 64.236.5.17 Unknown bb1-tby-p0-1.atdn.net
9 4 2 64.236.7.57 Unknown bb2-atm-p7-0.atdn.net
10 4 2 64.236.4.118 Unknown pop1-atm-p1-0.atdn.net
11 5 3 207.45.196.97 Atlanta if-4-0.core1.atlanta.teleglobe.net
12 6 3 64.86.81.190 Atlanta if-10-0.core2.atlanta.teleglobe.net
13 6 3 64.86.83.182 WASHINGTON D.C. if-6-0.core2.washington.teleglobe.net
14 5 3 207.45.223.121 WASHINGTON D.C. if-4-0.core1.washington.teleglobe.net
15 6 3 64.86.83.161 New York if-4-0.core3.newyork.teleglobe.net
16 6 3 64.86.83.157 New York if-6-0.core2.newyork.teleglobe.net
17 5 3 207.45.213.198 New York ix-10-9.core2.newyork.teleglobe.net
18 7 4 195.22.205.122 Milano mil5-nyc2-racc6.seabone.net
19 7 4 195.22.197.146 Milano ibs-14-it-mil5.seabone.net
20 8 - 151.99.75.220 Unknown
21 8 5 212.131.52.69 45.233N, 11.525E r-pd3-fa2.interbusiness.it
22 9 - 217.57.1.178 Unknown server



Network Data
Network id#: 1
IANA (RESERVED-6)
Internet Assigned Numbers Authority

4676 Admiralty Way, Suite 330

Marina del Rey, CA 90292-6695

US

Network id#: 2
ServiceCo LLC - Road Runner (NET-ROAD-RUNNER-3-A)
13241 Woodland Park Road

Herndon, VA 20171

US

Network id#: 3
AOL Transit Data Network (NETBLK-ATDN)
12100 Sunrise Valley Drive
Reston, VA 20191
US

Network id#: 4
AOL Transit Data Network (NETBLK-ATDN-ISP)
12100 Sunrise Valley Drive

Reston, VA 20191

US

Network id#: 5
Teleglobe Inc. (NETBLK-GLOBEINTERNET2)
11480 Commerce Park Drive
Reston, Virginia 20191
US

Network id#: 6
Teleglobe (NETBLK-TELEGLOBE-NET1)
11480 Commerce Park Dr.
Reston, VA 20191
US

Network id#: 7
Telecom Italia - International Division
Via di Macchia Palocco 223
00125 Roma
Italy

Network id#: 8
InterBusiness - Telecom Italia (NET-INTERBUSINESS)
Via Paolo Di Dono, 44
Roma, I-00143
IT

Network id#: 9
European Regional Internet Registry/RIPE NCC (NET-217-RIPE)
These addresses have been further assigned
to European users. Contact information can
be found in the RIPE database at whois.ripe.net
NL



Registrant Data
Registrant id#: 1
Registrant:
Road Runner HoldCo, LLC (RR6-DOM)
13241 Woodland Park Rd
Herndon, VA 20171
US

Registrant id#: 2
Registrant:
America Online, Inc
22000 AOL Way
Dulles, VA 20166
US

Registrant id#: 3
Registrant:
Teleglobe Inc. (TELEGLOBE2-DOM)
3900 Skyhawk Drive
Chantilly, VA 20151
US

Registrant id#: 4
Registrant:
Telecom Italia (SEABONE-DOM)
Via Flaminia 189
Roma, 00196
IT

Registrant id#: 5
Telecom Italia S.P.A
Via Paolo Di Dono, 44
I-00143 Roma
Italy

_____
NeoTrace Copyright ©1997-2001 NeoWorx Inc

AmStoned
02-20-2002, 03:53 AM
Damn, that's a lot of data. Guess I'll have something else to do besides visiting BBF now... :stoner1:

tim
02-20-2002, 04:55 AM
...the actual server is not named so who would you send the spam report to?

The nearest named node is r-pd3-fa2.interbusiness.it
So do I email abuse@interbusiness.it with the details?